Bucket List

My wife and I talk a lot about getting older. We married young, I was 23 she 21, and have been busy with family the last 30+ years. Many of my children are grown and gone; my youngest turns 13 next week, and our lives are in a transition. My wife recently asked me if I had anything on my bucket list. I didn’t have a ready answer; I don’t have a bucket list. Since that conversation I’ve been trying to compose one, but when I sat down to write one out it just didn’t happen. It didn’t bother me that I didn’t  have a bucket list. But, and this may sound a bit strange, what did bother me was that it didn’t bother me.

Until I thought about it some more. A long time ago, as a very young man, I wrote out a list of my life priorities, and that list has not changed. It is not a list of things to do, places to go, or achievements to make. It may not seem as such at first glance, but it is really a list of the same things. I have at the same time both fulfilled it and only yet started. So here it is:

  1. God
  2. My wife
  3. My children
  4. My family
  5. My friends
  6. My neighbors
  7. Everyone else in the world

So I’ve already been  been working on my bucket list for a long time. It’s not about what I’m doing or where I am. It’s about who I’m with and what I’m doing for them. Relationships. The one thing that I can take with me after the bucket falls over. And that doesn’t bother me at all.

This entry was posted in Faith, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bucket List

  1. Kenneth Tobin says:

    If you live your life right you don’t need a bucket list. Your life is your bucket list.

Leave a Reply

