On Hope.

12042683_895487260501280_7661829220640811197_nThose whom we love and lose are no longer where they were before. They are now wherever we are.

Saint John Chrysostom

November is the Month of the Holy Souls. At my home parish,  All Saints Catholic Church, a scroll of all those who have died in the past year is hung all month as a memorial and reminder.  I doubt anyone on that list thought they would be there this time last year. During the All Souls’ Mass of Remembrance this evening all the names were read aloud as family members placed a flower by the altar; it was simply beautiful. Sorrowful, yet full of hope. Mass is always wonderful, but for me the November 2 Commemoration of the Faithful Departed is particularly special. Death is not the end of the story.

I visited my father’s grave at Arlington Cemetery this afternoon; he been gone 14 years and I miss him more than ever. Yet I sensed a real peace while saying prayers there for him at the graveside. At Mass tonight, in the liturgy of the Eucharist, being present with Christ, I had a profound sense of how I am also present with all those with Him. Just a glimpse of what is to come. Hope, indeed…

 

This entry was posted in All Saint Catholic Churc, Catholic, Faith, Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

